Ian Oakley - Rise and Fall EP
  • Title:
    Rise and Fall EP
  • Artist:
    Ian Oakley
  • Label:
    Wake Up!
  • Cat:
    Wake Up! #006
  • Date:
    01 / 2016
  • Available:

About the release:

Wake Up! records is proud to announce Rise and Fall, the debut EP by Ian Oakley, a new talent from Toronto. Skewing acid-tinged house with languid, lopsided grooves,Rise and Fall weaves a mix of dubbed-out elements into a unique, intuitive whole. “Thumbs” evokes a liminal space perfectly suited for late night cruises and hypnotized foors. “Rise and Fall” stays true to its name, a slippery bassline ebbing and fowing against a elegantly mellow beat. On the B-side, “Bug Jam” indulges Oakley’s electro side, while label co-owner Benjamin Brunn remixes “Rise and Fall,” reimagining the original as a spacious, kosmiche slow burner. Rise and Fall is a confdent debut, as potent in headphones as on the decks and a welcome edition to the growing Wake Up! catalogue.