Various Artists - The Furnace Series Part One
  • Title:
    The Furnace Series Part One
  • Artist:
    Various Artists
  • Label:
    Booma Collective
  • Cat:
  • Date:
    04 / 2015
  • Available:

About the release:

The Furnace Series is a two-part compilation of music inspired by a special room in the Montréal apartment shared by Booma Collective from 2012-2014. When venues to throw parties became scarce, Booma used this room leading to the fire escape in the back of the apartment – known as The Furnace – as a space for small gatherings among close friends. The Furnace Series is a collection of memories of those intimate parties and impromptu jam sessions.

Part one features four tracks by Booma Collective founders and friends, beginning with “Psyche” – a hypnotic, dub-techno inspired composition with oscillating, piercing sounds, evoking whistling flurries. Solpara’s “Garden in the Furnace” echoes the hollowed-out concrete architecture of The Furnace itself, filling up then emptying its atmosphere with layered drum machines and ghostly voices. “CF01” is the result of feedback experimentation carefully arranged into a slow tribal jam.. Oren Ratowsky. producer of Booma Collective’s first vinyl release, rounds off the B side with “Gorby”, an eleven and a half minute exploration of his mastery of analog synthesizers.