ANFS - Ground EP
  • Title:
    Ground EP
  • Artist:
  • Label:
    Modal Analysis
  • Cat:
  • Date:
    09 / 2014
  • Available:

About the release:

The seventh Modal Analysis release comes from Athenian producer and dj, ANFS. Following his remix for Kondaktor’s Signal #1 , ANFS returns to the label with his debut release, “Ground”, a four track EP which consists of original material. Borrowing sounds from early twentieth century folk Greek culture, the EP is dominated by a rhythmic canibalistic spirit and a noisy distorted cue. Ground #1 functions as an introduction, or rather one’s initiation to the mystic rituals that prevail. The artist uses drones and distorted textures which increase in Ground#2
and are backed up by drums that beat in a hard-and-slow ethnic tonality. Ground#3 reveals a paroxysm of emotions which comes as a result from the combination of basslines and vocals that create a complex and twisted vortex. The trip ends with Ground#4, a more stripped down monotonic ensemble that serves as an epilogue and a catharsis.